GINK celeb alert: Zooey Deschanel comes out as childfree

Zooey Deschanel: blue eyes, green inclinations, no kids. (Photo by Edgar Barrera.)

Indie “it” girl Zooey Deschanel tells Marie Claire that she’s not so into the whole kids thing.

That’s never been my focus. My sister [Emily] was always very motherly, babysitting and stuff. I like kids, and I like being around kids — but it was never an ambition, something, like, I need … I like working. That’s what I like doing. I like to work.

Add a dollop of greenness and we’ve got a GINK (green inclinations, no kids). From a Mother Nature Network post last year:

“I drive a hybrid, a Prius. I try not to be wasteful. I’m not a major environmentalist, I’m not Ed Begley, Jr., but I think there are little things you can do,” says Zooey Deschanel. “I think the things that we all do every day add up, like recycling, reusing.” On the set of “New Girl,” her new Fox sitcom, “they got everybody reusable water bottles, so everybody has their own bottle. Those things can make a big difference.”

As Grist reported in 2009, “Zooey appeared in the environmental-disaster-themed but critically panned flick The Happening and helped kick off a national T-shirt recycling program last year.” Like the woman said, she’s no Ed Begley, Jr. But she does also like critters. She’s been involved with the nonprofit Mercy for Animals, a few months ago signing onto the group’s letter that called for McDonald’s to stop abusing its chickens.

Alright, so she’s not getting herself arrested to protest a pipeline or testifying before Congress about global warming. Still, Zooey’s greenish and childfree and adorkable. We’ll take her.

Zooey, welcome to the club! Cameron Diaz, Vincent Kartheiser, and the indomitable Betty White are members too, to name just a few.

Add your comment here

