Thank god I’m childfree so I don’t have to care about Sheryl Sandberg’s new book

"Lean In" book coverI’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: One of the many joys of childfree living is getting to sit out the Mommy Wars.

The latest reminder is a front-page article in The New York Times about Facebook COO Sheryl Sandberg’s forthcoming book, Lean In, which calls on women to go-go-go and push to the top of their career fields, having kids along the way but not letting those kids get in the way. This article is just the first shot in what’s sure to be a relentless media barrage about the book, its author, her supporters, and her detractors.

This follows last year’s kerfuffle over Yahoo! CEO Marissa Meyer’s super-short maternity leave, and Anne-Marie Slaughter’s Atlantic article, “Why Women Still Can’t Have It All.” The year before that we had the Tiger Mother. The roster of skirmishes stretches back decades.

Over the coming weeks, instead of being irritated every time I see yet another volley in the Sandberg conflict, I’ll take the opportunity to remind myself how happy I am that I just don’t have to care.

3 responses to “Thank god I’m childfree so I don’t have to care about Sheryl Sandberg’s new book

  1. Don’t worry, even by sitting out, they’ll find a way to use you to make some bogus argument. It will probably go like this: “See, these women aren’t having kids because of their pursuit of career and the almighty dollar. Women can’t have it all, blah, blah.”

  2. ha! I CAN have it all: my job AND my freedom. Thanks to being childfree!

Add your comment here

